• Marion County consolidated election results

    by  • April 9, 2013 • News

    As predicted by the county clerk, Marion County came in at nearly 16 percent voter turnout for the Consolidated Election Tuesday, which featured a number of very close races, something that concerns Marion County Clerk Steve Fox. vote

    In Centralia, current council members Doug Krutsinger and Howard Jones return, after receiving 464 and 371 votes in Marion County respectively.

    Not being elected to the council were Joshua Qualls with 178 Marion County votes, Jason Hunter with 122 and Warren Hynes with 95.

    The candidates topped off their totals in Clinton County, with Krutsinger bringing in an additional 95 votes, Jones another 47, Qualls another 37, Hunter another 35 and Hynes an additional 35 votes.

    Salem residents favored Sue Morgan for city council, at 441 votes, followed by Jim Baity with 367. Not winning re-election was Kip Meador, who trailed Baity closely with 358 votes, S. Jane Gaston followed with 337 votes, Joan E. Kless with 100 and Thomas F. Christie trailed at a distant 57 votes.

    Mayoral races were brought home by Jane Middleton in Kinmundy, who defeated Gary O. Cooper, 134 to 97. In Junction City, David Winegarner brought in 85 votes, to defeat Henry E. Rowcliff, Sr., who had 29 votes; Larry E. Miller who had 15 and Tom Charlton who had 14 votes.

    Joyce A. Sherwin narrowly defeated David Laczynski for Mayor of Kell, with a 19 to 16 margin. Michael G. Kelly will return as President of the Village of Odin, defeating Ronald Roberts 184 votes to 136. And in Patoka, Betty J. Brumfield unseated current village president Stacy Hood, with 106 votes to 84, having trailed by five votes until absentee ballots were counted.

    In Sandoval, Pamela Gelsinger brought home a resounding victory over David Boatright for village president, after she received 191 votes to his 24. Voters selected John Correll over Brian Donoho for Village President of Walnut Hill, giving Correll 30 votes to Donoho’s 12.

    Kenneth Helm, Sr., received 56 votes to John W. Lambert, Jr.’s 32 votes, to win a 2-year seat on the Village of Iuka Board of Trustees, and in Odin, Dave Daniels, Jim Smith and Susan L. Gordon were victorious in their race for village board, beating out Rudie Walker, with 246, 216 and 187 votes respectively to Walker’s 104.

    Robert G. “Bob” Smith led the pack in the Patoka race for village board trustee, bringing in 96 votes. He was followed by Nancy J. Snider with 88 votes and Larry Miller with 87. Not winning election to the board were Jeremy Landreth with 82 votes, Allen Hinderliter with 75 and Brooke Lopez with 59.

    With three seats available on the Walnut Hill Village board, John W. Berning won with 31 votes, Rick Tate with 27 and Kelly Tate with 26. Roger Donoho did not win a seat, having brought in only 13 votes.

    Township races

    Delores Wanzo brought in 624 votes for Centralia Township Trustee, followed by Patrick Stedelin with 531, Gary Joe Sanders with 494, and Judith Sutherland with 484 votes. Centralia was one of the closest township races, Gerald “Jerry” Ray, Robert “Bob” Hahn and William Nitz were not elected, having received 451, 432 and 404 votes respectively.

    In Foster Township, Dwain Shuler beat out Joe Jones for highway commissioner, 57 votes to 35; in Haines Township Eugene Lisenbey beat out Billy Hays for highway commissioner, 79 to 69 and in Iuka township, Patricia Timm beat out Edie Henne for township clerk, 106 votes to 47.

    Nick B. Meador received 99 votes for Iuka Township Trustee, followed by Zachary S. Williams with 95, Richard A. Vincent with 91 and Charles Arnold with 89. Not winning a seat was Erwina Blank with 88 votes.

    Steve O. Brown lost out to Blake Peterson, 87 votes to 92 for Omega Township highway commissioner, while Russell W. Beard received 109 votes for Omega Township Trustee, followed by Curt Hanks with 104, Randy Rose with 102 and Gerald O. Cooper with 95. Danielle D. Cooper was not elected, having received 85 votes.

    Bill G. Leathers received 68 votes to win one of four available seats on the Raccoon Township Board of Trustees. He will be joined by Paul Rector and Donna Prosise, who each received 59 votes and William Bierman with 58. Bill C. Mathena received 46.

    Gene Bailey narrowly lost his seat as Salem Township Supervisor to Richard Gregg, 544 votes to 542. Sharon K. Woodward received 669 votes to maintain her seat on the Salem Township Board of Trustees, she will be joined by Mike Malan who received 596 votes, Jim Bryant with 495 and by fellow Marion County Board member Doris Purcell, who received 561 votes.

    In Stevenson Township, Rick Morgan, Dale Eddings, Larry Boyles and Mac Todd won election to four vacant seats on the board, bringing in 66, 60, 59 and 53 votes respectively and in Tonti Township, Bryan Carter, M. Loyd Maxey, Gerald W. Hunter and Jennifer Rose were elected to four vacant seats on the board, bringing in 65, 63, 63 and 60 votes respectively.

    School Board races

    Eric Bandy received 1,260 votes to secure reelection to the Salem High School Board, followed by local attorney Bill J. Milner with 1,004 votes, Marla K. Tolliver with 988 and Michael A. McKinzie with 863 votes. Robert Phillips and Joshua R. Tate were not elected, following with 766 and 781 votes respectively.

    For Patoka School Board, Kurtis Belcher, Misty Cain and Dennis Cain, Sr., were elected to three available seats. Michael Vandeveer, Dena Hoffmann, Thomas P. Turner and Julia A. Rose were elected to four available seats on the South Central School Board and in Sandoval, Melvin “Mel” L. Wood and Rae Ann Gore were elected to two open seats on the Sandoval School Board.

    Robert “Bob” Burton, Holly Moore and Joe Laffoon were all elected to fill three available seats on the Odin School Board. Misty Johannes, Lisa Palazzolo, Christy Cameron and Courtney Donoho were elected to four seats on the Raccoon Grade School Board, while T..J. Burge, Dale Helpingstine, Kyle Kell and Danny Shuler were all elected to the Selmaville Grade School Board.

    In Centralia, Scott Stevenson, Stephanie Murphy, Jeffrey D. Mashburn and Victoria Benjamin won seats on the Centralia Grade School District 133 Board, while Sue Williams, Ronald E. Johnson, Quinton L. Runyon and Greg L. Dodson were all elected to Centralia Grade School District 135 Board.

    For Kaskaskia College Board of Trustees, Bill Hawley received 2,852 votes in Marion County, while Linda S. Stover received 1,922 for two available four-year seats, while Bryan S. Holthaus received 1,826 votes for one of two available two-year seats on the board.


    In Kinmundy, voters soundly defeated a measure that would continue the prohibition of the sale of alcohol, voting to allow alcohol sales 141 to 87. Kinmundy voters did, however, approve electric aggregation, along with the villages of Central City, Iuka, Junction City, Odin, Patoka, and Sandoval, as well as unincorporated areas of Marion County.